blueberries for the soul

It’s supposed to be fun. Suppose you decide where it would be a treat to write – out in a park, where they can’t find you? In the back booth of a coffee shop? At the beach?  By a lake? In a bar? .… I like to have some coffee or tea or, when I’m doing heavy revision, some red wine to cool down my anxiety. Or a glass filled with blueberries and white wine. I like to play music ….

This part is all for you. You can construct a little hut for your soul with everything it needs ready at hand. Remember, it’s no big deal, but it’s a huge deal. You’re only having “fun,” but if you’re lucky, your soul, your real soul, will come out and say hi

Carolyn See, author of Making a Literary Life

Such decadence. Such bohemian indulgence. White wine and blueberries? Surely such props are unnecessary to a true writer?

Hmmm, but it does sound like a lovely idea. I’ll just have to make sure I don’t spill the wine on my computer.

I think Carolyn’s advice goes to the heart of overcoming procrastination and similar such writerly blocks. Once I have convinced myself to sit down with my computer and begin to write, I am fine. Words come, and time flies. But it’s the getting there in the first place. White wine and blueberries sounds like wonderful bait.

Leave a Reply

