the smell of fresh paper …

There are some lucky souls for whom the process of writing is easy, for whom the smell of fresh paper is better than air, whose minds chuckle perpetually over their own agility, who forget to eat, and who consider the world at large an intrusion on their good time at the computer.

This is possibly my favourite inspirational quote, and yet I cannot remember who wrote it. (Apologies, inspired soul. I’ll put your name up there as soon as I rediscover it.) I love the idea of ‘chuckling perpetually’ over one’s words, as if playing with a particularly sunny-natured baby. And of course a writer’s work is their baby!

This is how I want to be. This is the opposite of procrastination and the dreaded writer’s block. And who says I can’t?

Leave a Reply

