Look to your zest!

Zest. Gusto. How rarely one hears these words used. How rarely do we see people living, or for that matter, creating by them. Yet if I were asked to name the most important items in a writer’s make-up, the things that shape his material and rush him along the road to where he wants to go, I could only warn him to look to his zest, see to his gusto.

Ray Bradbury

I love this sentiment. It gives me permission to break the rules, write what I want to write (not what I think others want to read on the basis of what’s already out there), and to make that writing experience painfully exciting!

…. because abandoning those safe normative parameters is painful. With zest comes the spark of danger, not to mention a dollop of extra effort. But the pay-off is worth it. I would far rather rush down my own road Bradbury-wise than plod another well-trodden rut.

One thought on “Look to your zest!

  1. I love this, Venetia, and you have such a way with words!

Leave a Reply

